Why a Happiness Project

I want to create more memories this year. I suppose you could say every year memories are created, but I wanted to make an effort about what memories are going to be created so I put together a Happiness Project for 2011 in the hopes I would stick to it and so far so good!

One of the problems I have is living in the moment. With the day to day stress of being a working mommy I am constantly thinking of things I need to do, groceries to be bought, places to go, people to see…you get the picture?  The problem with this is I don’t know how to switch off and I need to learn too, especially if I want to enjoy the moment, right now!  So by making a tangible list I am hoping once I am doing that specific thing it will be a “light bulb” moment and I’ll force myself to just be in the moment and enjoy it.  I want to document it. I want it to be a story someday.

My list is really just a bulleted document of experiences I am hoping to make memories one day.  I don’t believe physical things can make me happier or wiser. Maybe for a short while but once the novelty wears off it will just become part of my “stuff” that I take for granted.

I’m not delusional either. I know by ticking everything off on my list won’t necessarily make me that ideal happy person you think you should be but its definitely going to give me a sense of achievement. I need to realize just to be happy now

With what I’ve got

With whom I’ve got

and more importantly with who I am.  

“What a wonderful life I’ve had! I only wish I’d realized it sooner.” Colette

7 thoughts on “Why a Happiness Project

  1. Oh I hear you and understand so well. Sort of my philosophy for the year – to be happy where I am. My hubby and I have long ago decided to “experience” in stead of “have things”. So you will often see us doing things, going away and visiting places. Difficult with two 3 year olds, but we are getting there.

  2. What I love about the happiness project concept is that we can all make it what we want it to be. I’m on my own this year and I think we will all benefit a bit from making the effort to enjoy life a bit more :)

Leave a Reply

