Plain old moments

Bye bye, love.   weekeend
Bye bye, happiness.  Sunday
Hello, loneliness. week
I think I’m a-gonna cry-y.

Bye bye, love.
Bye bye, sweet caress.
Hello, emptiness.
I feel like I could di-ie.
Bye bye, my love, goodby-ye. (Everly Brothers….I love
old music)

I know I know, stop being melodramatic…it’s Tuesday already and I should get over it but the weekend came and went too quickly and once again I feel like I’ve been run over by a Transnet train.  I’m tired, my baby girl is sick, it’s parent evening tonight, I need groceries, I have no idea what I’m making for dinner and they thought of take-aways again makes me feel guilty and yes I’m being a big moany pants.

So instead I’ll think about the weekend that was.  There was some good and some bad moments, mostly good but today I want to focus on the moments when life was just happening.  A few of those very plain ordinary moments that’s special in itself.

Those moments when you realize it’s Saturday morning and you don’t have to drag yourself out of bed at 5:30 am.  Times that by two when you realize it’s your hubby’s turn to get up for the kids.

Those moments in the morning when Zoe’s just finished her bottle and she brings her face so close to mine and I can smell her sweet milky breath

Those moments when Ethan is playing with his sister and I realize his doing it without me asking him too

Those moments when I sneak into Zoe’s room and she’s sleeping next to her baby doll.

Those moments when you’ve been rained out of a lunch date with friends but you’re enjoying each other’s company that you decide they should follow you home in the rain.  

Those moments when the Highveld thunderstorms hit us and it’s wild and chaotic. As quickly as it descends it retreats and it’s calm again.

Moments that are good and those are the moments I fail to notice when I feel overwhelmed.  I just need to keep the focus and I’ll be okay. 

Happy Tuesday folks!

5 thoughts on “Plain old moments

  1. Thanks for finding your way over to my blog – I’m very glad to have found my way to yours. Love the mood of this post, pure nostalgia. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

