Three Fold

Todays post is threefold. Just because I have so much to say and share.

Long weekends

I live for the weekends and when Monday is a public holiday they don’t seem as blue as they usually do. It was a fun filled weekend packed to the brim which leaves me quite deflated for the work week ahead but worth every second nonetheless. The highlight of the weekend has to be Lusitoland ~ a festival that always delights the taste buds with enticing Portuguese food from peri peri sardines, irresistible garlic prawns and spicy espetada’s. We always try and get there early enough so we’ll be in time for brunch and an early dinner so we can eat twice!

We organized a babysitter for the day and the parentals got to chill in the sun with the festivals legendary caipirinha’s and when we weren’t chilling in the sun we did a bit of shopping in the market. I fell in love with this picture instantaneously and well what can I say it looks great on the dining room wall.

And while we weren’t chilling and browsing the market we decided to get in touch with our younger side and visit the fun fare.

Anniversaries

Yesterday we celebrated our wedding anniversary. It’s been eight years that we stood overlooking the Indian Ocean saying our vows in front of friends, family and God. It was a nostalgic day recollecting the days events from waking up at the crack of dawn to writing my vows on the beach watching the sun rise, to the car breaking down on the way to my hair appointment and me having to walk to the hairdresser on the day of my wedding, to getting ready with my bridesmaids at stunning holiday flat in Chaka’s rock, drinking champagne on the road whilst my Father in Law waited patiently in the shiny silver merc that was our lift to the wedding venue, walking down the aisle with the sea breeze blowing my veil and seeing the huge grin on Donovan’s face, the sea, the sunflowers, the celebrations afterwards, the speeches, the dancing and in total it was just a grand day that I would love to relive given the chance.

Last night we commemorated the day by going to Doppio for dinner with the kids. I had the most devine pork belly with mustard mash which I washed down with a really good glass of pinotage. The kids really were on their best behavior and my very thoughtful son took Zoe into the kiddy’s area to eat their dinner which has an eating area especially for little people, while mommy and daddy could enjoy their anniversary in peace. I love my kids!

I love my husband!

Happy Anniversary…I know we’ll have many many more.

Deliveries

I got home to a delivery. Yay I *puffy heart* deliveries and it’s even better when it’s unexpected. I totally forgot about a book I ordered off Loot a few weeks ago and I’m really looking forward to starting it after paging through it just before bedtime last night. Despite this I’m going to have to be patient because I’ve just started reading Shantaram which is a lengthy 900 + pages long. It’s been awhile since a book has gripped me like “A Thousand Splendid Suns” and “The Kite Runner” did but this one does.

The author is an Australian fugitive who escapes to an Indian Village, takes residence in a Bombay slum, sells drugs, escapes death in a Bombay prison and ends up smugglings arms in Afghanistan. What is incredible is this is a true story and Roberts wrote Shantaram three times after prison guards trashed the first two versions. He explains himself as a revolutionary who lost his ideals in heroin, a philosopher who lost his integrity in crime and a poet who lost his soul in a maximum security prison. Its an amazing read so far!

Once I’m done with Shantaram I’ll start with the newly delivered book.

What are you reading at the moment? Or what book have you read recently that you really enjoyed?

6 thoughts on “Three Fold

  1. I LOVE that picture. Really stunning!

    Oops, sorry I forgot your anniversary!
    Happy anniversary to you & Donovan!

    I’m ready the Time Travellers Wife. Wow, it is such a good book. Nearly at the end and it’s getting quite sad.

  2. Happy anniversary to the both of you :)

    Right now I’m reading Good Omens by Terry Pratchett. It’s one of only a few books I needed to complete my collection of his books and it’s warped and twisted and hilarious.

  3. Happy anniversary to you and Don – I have so many fond memories of your wedding day and loved spending that special time with you.

    Your books sounds good, will need to download it. I am reading “You’re Next” at the moment, just started it and seems good so far :)

  4. Happy Anniversary! I could never read Shantaram – tried a few times but I think I had an Indian slum overload in the last few years. I loved “Room” and “The elegance of the hedgehog”. Busy with “Wolf Hall” at present.

  5. Happy anniversary, Fee. Sounds like you guys had lots of fun over the weekend. I am so sad to have missed out on Lusitoland. We will definitely go with you next year.

    It gives me a happy feeling reading your stories. I really enjoy them.

    I am busy with the Elephant Whisperer and I can’t put the book down. It is about a man in Kwazulu Natal adopting very angry elephants. If you are an animal lover, it is a must read.

Leave a Reply

