Overheard

Zoe: Ethan read!!!

Ethan grabs himself a book out of her cupboard.

Ethan: Old Mc Donald had a farm. E I E I O. And on that farm he had a pig. E I E I O. With a snort snort here and a snort snort there…

Zoe: Noooooooooooo. Ethan. READ!!!!

She’s getting angry.

Ethan: Old Mc Donald had a farm. E I E I O. And on that farm he had a cow. E I E I O. With a moo moo here and a moo moo there….

Zoe: Ethan READ! READ! READ!

Zoe is in tantrum mode now, her body is sprawled on the floor and tears are welling up in her big brown eyes.

Mommy having overheard the ordeal knows exactly what the problem is so rushes to the bedroom and explains to Ethan even though he is reading he must please not sing the words. He should rather *read* the song because that’s the way Zoe likes things.

Problem solved. I can resume with dinner.

6 thoughts on “Overheard

Leave a Reply

