Retail Therapy

Wikipedia’s take on retail therapy

Retail therapy is shopping with the primary purpose of improving the buyer’s mood or disposition. Often seen in people during periods of depression or transition, it is normally a short-lived habit. Items purchased during periods of retail therapy are sometimes referred to as comfort buys.

My take on retail therapy

I do shop “with the primary purpose of improving my mood” but I really should recognize that as much as I love shopping I don’t care for it much with a two year old in tow. I like picking pretty new things off the shelves. I don’t like picking up pretty little girls off the floor when they tantrum.

“Often seen in people during periods of depression or transition” My only period of depression is when my money runs out. My only period of transition is in the change room deciding between a long Big Blue skirt or a ¾ Big Blue skirt.

“Items purchased during periods of retail therapy are sometimes referred to as comfort buys” I can’t agree more. Pretty things soothe me, calm me and placate me.

Don’t we all need some comfort on this mighty chilly Saturday morning????

I did.

Now my lounge is pretty.  And I hope I’ll be pretty for the party tonight too :)

Happy Saturday peeps!!!

10 thoughts on “Retail Therapy

    • New cushions….six of them :-)
      No spending money for me for the rest of the month now, Woolies in design quarter have the most devine stuff for your house. I could have spent the rent money too!!!

  1. Love those cushions they are really nice. What a coincidence but I also went and bought cushions on the weekend for my lounge :)

  2. I very much enjoy retail therapy. Normal grocery shopping not so much but wandering around stores looking (and buying) pretty things … very much.

    Big Blue sees me coming from a mile away. I can’t walk in there and walk out empty handed.

  3. Im so in need of this today!!! Have a big list of things to buy but little money… :(

    Love the skirts. but love the cushions more. they are fab

  4. Pingback: Retail Therapy (via Remember when) « Scaredmom's Blog

Leave a Reply

