Grannies

Grannies….

Are moms with extra frosting.

Never run out of hugs or kisses. Or patience.

They are babysitters who watch the children instead of TV.

They have silver in their hair and gold in their heart.

Are mothers with lots of practice.

Kids your granny is all of the above and a little extra! She’s the one who taught me compassion. She is the one who taught me it’s okay to go without if it means you don’t have too. She is the one who spends her weekends looking after her grandchildren when her daughters need some time to ourselves with our significant others. This lady is the epitome of selflessness. You are blessed to have her in your lives.  So are we.

Sometimes a thank you is just not enough. I know it’s probably enough for her because of her generous spirit but my sister and I decided we needed to show her just how much we appreciate everything she does for us and our kids. An afternoon at Moyo was reseved for 10. The troops gathered under the African sky overlooking Zoo Lake and the ambiance set the tone for a few hours of love, laughter and gratitude.

It was a wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon. The eclectic décor, the huge pine tree’s surrounding the eating area, the Highveld sun sneaking through the shade cloth above us, the tasty traditional food that didn’t disappoint and the warm hospitality of the face painters and the live singing trio that charmed us with their singing performance.

Zoe. Our book lover. Out butterfly.

Cousins. Baby gossip. Building lego.

Yummy food. Delectable wraps.

Gorgeous sister. Gorgeous niece.

Mom. Me. Sister. Family.

Mom I do hope you enjoyed your afternoon out. You are such a blessing to us. Thank you for everything you do!

6 thoughts on “Grannies

  1. I do agree with you. I feel the same about my mother and father. Grandparents are the best thing for our children as well as us, the parents. They have so much love to give and are the best babysitters there is :)
    Glad you enjoyed the day with your mother – I’m sure she feels honored to have such daughters like you and your sister.

  2. Grannies are special. I only got to know my granny on my dad’s side but she was just super. And singlehandedly responsible for my chocolate addiction :)

    Looks like you all had a special day out.

Leave a Reply

