Birthdays

I have this thing about remembering important occasions. Birthdays are big for me especially loved ones birthdays. When Ethan and Zoe were born I wanted to bottle everything of that day from the edgy nervousness of being wheeled into theatre to the ecstatic exhilaration of meeting our little bundle of joy. There are no precise words to explain that second when you meet your baby for the first time. It was the first day that my heart didn’t live inside me anymore. It was a day of magical beginnings. A day filled with expectations and dreams coming true. If only it could be bottled up. Just one bottle that can be opened each year and we could have a little sip of that day to remember how extraordinary it was.

Today is my birthday and my mind’s been racing what that day was like 34 years ago. I know bits and pieces but I would love to be able relive it, even if it’s for a few brief minutes. To be welcomed, loved and introduced to the world. I may not know the ins and outs of the day but I know bits and pieces of my history. I was born in Rhodesia in 1977. It was a time of war and sanctions. My dad was serving on the ground and he was away from home for 6 weeks and home for 10 days so during that time my mom lived with my grandparents. I was due the 13th July which came and went so my mom’s doctor booked her into hospital on the eve of the 19th expecting to induce her the next day but she went into labor naturally that morning. I was born mid-day and I’ve been told I came out chubby and I loved to sleep. Nice to know not much changes in 34 years. I’m still on the short side of life, I still have the chubbiest hands you’ve ever seen on a fully grown woman and if it was up to me I would hibernate most of winter.

In celebration of today I’m going savour all the birthday calls, emails, facebook messages and sms’s. I’m going to be especially grateful for the flowers, the presents, the chocolate biscuits that’s been snuck next to my pc when I stepped out the office, the sweet birthday wishes from both my boys this morning and I’m going to look back on the last year and commemorate the good times because there have been a lot. I’m going to try bottle it up as best as I can. I never want to forget how fortunate I am to have such amazing family and friends in my life.  Thanks everyone for always making my birthday special!!!

Birthdays are good for you.  Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest.  ~Larry Lorenzoni

9 thoughts on “Birthdays

  1. Happy Happy to you! Happy Happy to you! Happy Happy dear Fiona *new blogger friend!* Happy Happy to you! Lots and lots of love and cupcakes and all things nice for you on your special day xx

Leave a Reply

