Do you remember your first pair of Doctor Martens?

I do.  It’s up there with my first kiss and my first high school crush.  I used to spend the better part of my weekend wearing my green suede six hole lace ups. I loved the smell of them, the comfort, the clean yellow stitching and more importantly the memories I made wearing them. 

This weekend Donovan bought me a pair of ox blood 8 hole lace ups.  I’ve been taken back in time. I can’t believe I have a pair of “iconic” shoes sitting on my bed right now!  I have mixed emotions.  I don’t think I’m bad ass enough to pull off that look, like I did with such ease 15 years ago.  I certainly don’t have ripped jeans, grungy t-shirts and a bad attitude to wear with them anymore.  I suppose I could always work around that.  Rules are meant to be broken aren’t they?  I could turn the ragged, grungy look of yesterday year into a smarter chic look for a mom who is still very much young at heart.  I can already visualize it.  I’m hoping it looks as trendy in my head as it will in real life….

12 thoughts on “Do you remember your first pair of Doctor Martens?

  1. I’m jealous! Where on earth did he find them? I’ve been looking forever – ever since I got my first pair during a growth sport and they had to go to my cousin after 2 months…

  2. They are gorgeous and I’m sure you’ll pull them off.

    I have to tell you my sob story. I was 16 when Doc’s became the big thing in the town I grew up in. I scrimped and saved my pocket money and did odd jobs for my parents to save up the R750 (a fortune back then) for a pair of Doc’s. Finally I had enough saved up and I walked to Edgars to go and buy my pair and they were gone. Not a single pair in the store. I was devastated.

  3. Oh my word! Need the details too please. I owned a pair but never new ones. Mine were a hand me down from a cousin. Loved them though! Adored them. Felt positively invincible in them. Enjoy!

  4. I do remember mine! I was 12, and I thought they were just the best thing ever, even though they were the lame sandal kind. Well, not just any sandal–they were WHITE with a flower cutout, and it was my great hope that they’d leave a flower shaped tan line on the top of my foot. Oof.

  5. Gosh I SO remember mine!! I opened an Edgars account to buy them, lol and my mom had to pay in the balance because they only gave me a R350 limit lol.

    I had 8 up blacks. I had red laces in. They were stolen out my car….I loved loved loved them!

  6. Omg, those were the days!! Guess we had to have a bit of rebel in us to really pull them off, especially wearing my little pad locks locked on to the doc marten tag at the back – embarass
    ing!! Kept it simple though, black 8 hole and black laces. I remember my dad taking us to a little shop in Bloem and us picking out our docs.My sister who is 6 years younger than me took the oxblood ones – she looked super funky in them!

Leave a Reply

