Some advice on Life

Kids I’m not going sugar coat life for you.  Life is going to teach you some harsh lessons.    Lessons that will leave you feeling deflated, a little disheartened and sometimes discouraged.  To make matters worse this is going to happen on more than one occasion.  All you can do is pick yourself up, dust yourself off and walk away with your head held high.  It isn’t easy.  It takes courage and it takes humility to do this but you’ll walk away better because these lessons build character.  

Today was a difficult lesson.  Today I watched people lose their jobs.  Jobs that are their sustenance.  Their lifeline.  The reason they could pay their bills at the end of the month.  Bills that include a mortgage, school fees, car repayments and money that puts food on the table for their family.  I stood on the sidelines watching the uncertainty, the distress and the worry.  I watched knowing my job was secure.  Feelings of appreciation, guilt, remorse and gratitude overflowed as I stood on the sidelines.  It was a rollercoaster of emotions.  Yet I knew whatever I was feeling scaled low compared to my fellow colleagues who were packing up their drawers, saying their farewells and trying to keep their heads up high as they walked away. 

Kids it’s okay to show emotion.  It’s okay to be sad.  It’s okay to fall apart.  We’re human.  We were specifically designed to have these feelings and as much as it’s acceptable to be happy, it’s also acceptable not to be happy.  Don’t feel embarrassed for being human.  What demonstrates strength of character is how you deal with the situation and what you take from it.  I can’t say I’m going to take as much from this situation as someone who is leaving today, that’s for sure.  What I do hope to take from it is to be more appreciative, to try and embrace change and to keep my faith.  All three have helped make it easier.  The last few weeks have been an upheaval of doubt but I took comfort in knowing that every bad situation will pass.  Happier times will prevail.  Times of uncertainty and sadness are needed.  They are a compulsory part of growing up.  They exist so the happier times are emphasized.   Imagine a year without seasons?  Without the cold we can’t appreciate the warmth.  The same is true for the ebb and flow of happy and sad times. 

Try and enjoy each stage of life.  Time is precious.  If you appreciate life with all it’s lessons, good and bad, then happiness will be in the palm of your hand. 

9 thoughts on “Some advice on Life

  1. ((hugs)) After being through a number of retrenchment exercises in various companies over the years where I’ve been left behind, I know how stressful and sad this is for you too… don’t underestimate your sense of loss even though it’s not you that’s leaving

  2. “Kids it’s okay to show emotion. It’s okay to be sad. It’s okay to fall apart.” and “What demonstrates strength of character is how you deal with the situation and what you take from it.” is two sentences very true to what’s been going on with me lately. I’m very thankful that your job is secure, and my thoughts are with those who’s wasn’t. x

  3. Having been through the exact same situation last year…and being the one left behind…it feels like i wrote this :-)

    Sending hugs xxx

    Great post…and oh so true!

  4. Having been the one having to tell my people last year 2 weeks before Christmas that they were being retrenched knowing I would still have an income nearly broke me. I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with this Fi.

    Those that lost their liveliehoods are in my thoughts.

    xxx

  5. Oh dear! It’s hard when you witness something like that… But it’s like you said, we’re all human and its ok to show feelings.

    Life will find another way for the people who lost their jobs.

Leave a Reply

