Take a page out of this book

This book is possibly a childhood memory for someone out there. It might have even been a present under a tree once upon a time. Or a little girls dream of what it would be like to have a family of her own one day. 

This is just one of many books that Nana has been stowing away, waiting for the day when she can pass them on to you  ~ yes she must be a sentimental old duck just like your mom :)

I can already picture myself packing away your favourite story books in anticipation of handing them down to your children, my grandchildren, one day. Actually I know this is exactly what I’m going to do. It will be stored alongside your first outfit you sported home from the hospital, the newspaper we purchased the day you were born, your first pair of teeny tiny Nike takkies, my first mother’s day card, your gorgeous little curls from your first haircut and so many other things I’ve been putting away. For the day when I can hand them over to you and you’ll cherish them as much as I do.

And in the meantime when I feel like you are growing up to quickly I’ll go sit in your room, pull the keepsakes box from the cupboard and I will remember. Glimpses of way back then. The good old times. Yes kids no doubt about it, you’ll be hearing a lot about the good old times. Unfortunately it’s almost a rite of passage for any kid to hear their parents reminiscing about the good old times. 

When I go through the pages of this book I wish for a simpler life. A life when there was no internet, no cellphone, no facebook, less technology and more togetherness. I’ve always dreamed of living in the fifties or the sixties. Heck I’ll even take the seventies, I’m not that fussy. Life seemed easier and a little less uncomplicated. And who wouldn’t want to live in an era with Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison and the Beach Boys anyway?

Kids I hope one day when I hand over your box of keepsakes and you pass them onto your children you can look back on this era and it will summon up memories of the good old days….

5 thoughts on “Take a page out of this book

  1. Living life in the fifties and sixties…i dream of that…I always say i was born in the wrong century.
    I have also kept all my old books…I wish my folks had done the same.

  2. Oh, I was definitely born in the wrong era. Stunning post. I wish my Mom had kept more of my stuff. I’m trying to do it with my sons but I need to keep reminding myself.

Leave a Reply

