Being Grateful

From the minute I was dashing home on Friday afternoon to the time my weary head hit the pillow last night I’ve been busy.  Busy with dinner dates, art classes, picnics, movies, swimming, sunday school, being silly and spending quality time with family and friends.  In-between the busyness I tried to make a conscious effort to try and enjoy each moment.  To savour our time together and to be grateful for everything we have as a family. 

There has always been a part of me that has always wanted more.  I’ve always thought more things would satisfy my ungrateful nature.  It never did and realistically even if it did it was only for a few short days and it was always fleeting.  I’m slowly but surely trying to change my mindshift and I’m making the change from wanting more to being thankful more.  Being thankful for the abundance we already have.  Health, family, friends, jobs, freedom, education….things that other people pray for.  I have. 

It can take something small like not having a second car for a few weeks to put things back into perspective.  In the moment I ranted, I raved, I blamed and I asked why us?  Why couldn’t life be easier?  Why is life so unfair?  Really in hindsight now I’m embarrassed.  I was upset for the inconvenience of getting home half an hour later or worse case scenario an hour later every night.  I was the one who now had to be inconvenienced by picking Ethan up from school.  Never mind how privileged we are to have good paying jobs to pay for a private school.  I was the one who had to take the nanny home because she is looking after Zoe this month because we can’t send her to school.  Never mind how privileged we are that we can afford to employ full time help and what a blessing it is to get home to a clean house and a cupboard full of ironed clothes.  I was the one who had to be bothered to do the grocery run because my husband was without a car.  Never mind how privileged we are that we don’t have to beg for money on the side of the road for something to eat. 

So yes I’m taking stock for the abundance we have and I’m going to try my hardest to be more grateful in 2012. 

10 thoughts on “Being Grateful

  1. What a great post! You are so right, we all have so much to be thankful for! it usually takes a while lot more than a bit of inconvenience to open some peoples eyes to this fact. Thank you for helping me open mine :) xx

Leave a Reply

