A certain body in our house

Would lose his head if it wasn’t screwed on.

Why does that sounds so familiar? Oh dear I’m turning into my mom!

You know those things you vow never to say when you have a child of your own? Yes those things your mom said to you? I’m embarrassed to say I’m guilty of doing that. Except that one where I threaten my children with a slip slop. I remember my mom standing over us with a slip slop in her hand saying ‘I’m not talking again. The next time my shoe will do the talking”. I think if I had to say that I wouldn’t be able to be all serious. You know like a mom should be when she’s disciplining her child? We all know slip slops can’t talk.

Back to the subject of losing things. We have a certain scatterbrain that resides in the far side of the house. Sometimes it’s safer that his room is not in close proximity to mine especially on days when he comes home looking all sheepish. I just know the look. His lost something! School shoes are lost before he grows out of them. Jerseys are lost before they have time to fray. Home-work books are lost before March is written in. Second breaks are spent going through lost property but often coming home empty handed. Pocket money is happily given but sadly taken away a few days later. He even received his Math’s award at Prize-giving last year sporting his soccer boots because we couldn’t find one of his school shoes. It’s an epidemic that depletes my bank balance and heightens my stress levels.

So this year I’m investing in iron-on labels from Name Tapes. When I was asked if I would be interested in trying their labels out I didn’t have to think twice. School Labels are worth their weight in gold! Imagine a life where you don’t have to rush to the local mall after work to find a pair of size 11 school shoes? Or spending your last R200 on another school jersey? Or not having to write apologetic letters to the class teacher when he goes back to school without his schoolbooks?

That’s the life I’m hoping for when our set of 50 labels arrive. They have character, they were reasonable (R250 with delivery) and it’s going to save me a lot of time and money in the future.

I know if something unfamiliar found its way into our home with this label attached I would need to find its owner. Wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

