Camp Outs, Canyons and Conclusions

I have come to the conclusion that I have a love hate relationship with camping.  After our last trip in December I vaguely remember promising myself that I would never to do it again, I had outgrown it! Well that’s what I thought but strangely enough I found myself packing for an impromptu camping trip to the Canyon last week and it didn’t take much convincing from anyone.  And now I find myself planning for the next camping trip because this one rocked, in more ways than one.  The Canyon was a sight for sore eyes.  Sore eyes that are normally accustomed to rows of boring office cubicles, bumper to bumper highways and the otherwise dreary concrete jungle called Joburg. 

I am embarrassed to say I hadn’t heard of Blyde River Canyon until a few days ago.  It was only when I googled that the penny dropped.  The third largest Canyon in the world could be found in our very own back garden, Mpumulanga!  And what a back garden we have.  Gods Window, Worlds End, the Three Rondavels,  the Rain Forests, Mac Mac Falls, the Canyon and so much more.  I discovered a whole new part of South Africa to love. 

blyde 2

It was a trip that might have just saved my sanity, my marriage and my general well being.  We hiked, we were stalked by scary baboons, we discovered little waterfalls nestled in great canyons, we uncovered charming little towns, we went to bed at 8 every night, it was an adventure.  It was also food for the soul. 

Blyde 19

blye 1

Camping, you’ve redeemed yourself. 

Blyde 18

12 thoughts on “Camp Outs, Canyons and Conclusions

  1. sounds wonderful! I haven’t been there since I was a child and I’m dying to take the kids to that part of the world… camping however? Not a chance ;)

  2. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. My last camping trip was to a backpackers in the pouring rain. I may need a trip like yours to redeem it in my mind.

  3. Reaaalllllyyyyyy….. We have to go and fetch a car from Mpumulanga soon. Handsome says he did enough camping in the Army, so getting him into a tent will be another thing all together, but 12 years on I’m still trying.

  4. Glad you enjoyed it. We “camped” in our chalet for a week in March :-) How strikingly beautiful is that Province…. Can’t believe we haven’t gone there before. Definetly going back. hopefully soon.

    • Careful, the Seahawks might sign him and then our defense would have to deal with a scorned lover. Pete/Scott would love a coup d&é817;#2tat.

    • We did Cat. It’s our second experience at a Forever Resort and we were very impressed. The first time I went to a Forever Resort was 10 years ago at Badplaas and that was also very nice :)

Leave a Reply

