Come Dine with Me

Five couples from Johannesburg.  All amateur chefs, competing against each other to host a top notch dinner party for the other contestants. Each competitor then rates the host’s performance with the winner winning a R1,000 cash prize and more importantly bragging rights.  Bragging rights to the title of the ultimate dinner party host.

It sounded like a great idea whilst enjoying our High Tea at the Fire and Ice with a group of girlfriends.  So we decided to execute it then and there.   Names were drawn out of a tea cup and dates were decided.  I drew the unlucky number one and I hosted first, this week.

It took weeks of planning and I finally settled on a Menu that I was happy with.  It looked something like this ~

Starter

Seared beef fillet with chocolate chilli and Amarula sauce

Main

Prawn & Cashew Nut Curry

Dessert

Home-made Romany Cream Ice-cream

Once the menu was out of the way, it was time to sort out all the other final details that make up the ultimate dinner party.  Two dinner tables, 10 dining room chairs, 5 metres of table cloth, old records for place mats, table decor, scoring cards, video cam and entertainment.

come dine with me 1

come dine with me 2come dine with me 3

Dinner parties don’t necessarily need to be expensive.  I believe it’s more about the experience of the night.  And what a night it was!  I had such fun with the organizing, planning, setting up, cooking, serving and entertaining but the cherry on the top, were the guests.  If you know our group of friends then the snide remarks, the constant teasing and making fun of one another, only means one thing.  It was a success!

come dine with me 4

So Good luck to the rest of you.  I’m looking forward to seeing what you’re going to put together.  I have no doubt each of you will try out-wine, out-dine and out-class me.  Until next week…

come dine with me 5

6 thoughts on “Come Dine with Me

  1. Awesome! But you broke my heart using Tchaikovsky as a dinner plate!!
    Our crowd has also decided to do something similar, but I need to get over my exams before we try… Please post your friends evenings too. I’d love to see who the overall winner is and how everyone differs in styles.

    • All the records we bought were scratched – we got them for R8 a pop at the local thrift shop.

      I will update you on the rest of the dinners and hopefully you will to, once yours starts. It’s so much fun!

Leave a Reply

