A mandatory rest period

I’m taking a mandatory rest break today.  My body aches, my throat is on fire and my chest is closed as tight as a treasure box.

Our kitchen counter boasts a range of Med Lemon, Disprin, ACC200, Vitamin C Immune Booster, homeopathic flu granules, Stilpayne and asthma meds.  It’s a concoction of hope.  Hope that anyone of these might just be the cure to magically feeling better.  But it’s an empty basket of hope if it’s missing one thing, rest.

Rest that eludes me.  I lie in bed and I feel guilty.  I feel guilty that Ethan is in the room next to me, just as sick, and I haven’t made him breakfast.    I feel guilty for not calling the school to setup our 10 minute Parent Teachers meeting on the 19th June.  I feel guilty for not doing my banking.  I feel guilty for not picking up a Dora package at the post office for Zoe that’s been there since the 24th May.  I feel guilty for all the unread emails in my inbox that I haven’t gotten to.  I feel guilty because my colleagues are at the office and I’m at home.  I feel guilty for failures that aren’t my own.  I feel guilty that we haven’t gone back to the SPCA to look for Vixen.  I miss her, the kids miss her.  Were we not responsible enough.  Why didn’t I get that chip put in a long time ago?  I feel guilty for the long to do list I have that I haven’t ticked off yet.

Guilt

At the end of the day the only answer to all the above is time.  There just isn’t enough time to do everything.  I don’t even have time to blog anymore.  To take photo’s.  To play.  To discover our city, and there is so much happening and it’s killing me that I don’t have time to do anything!  I want to register for this Underground Dinner.  I want to go to this Open Air Cinema in Juta Street.   I want to book a picnic Off the Beaten Track.  I want to be available. I want to be here, in the moment.  I am battling with this.

So as of right now I’m going to try take some time to rest, even if it’s for a short while.  The banking, the post office, our lost cat, work and PTA’s can wait a few more hours.

So can the guilt.

17 thoughts on “A mandatory rest period

  1. oh shame Fiona! It’s so terrible being sick cause you just don’t have the energy to do anything. I hope you feel better soon. Just book those things you want to do, even if you book them months ahead, before you know it the time will be here. Just let us know the dates you book so we can book for ourselves too :)

    • Fernando Leão disse:Eu ainda tô pensando na verdade.E pro João eu diria:TOCA MAIS UMA JOÃO!Quem assistiu ao Calibre 12 sabe do que estou faa&3dol#82n0;

  2. The only important thing at the moment is you and you need to look after yourself and get better to be able to do the other things properly. Guilt is a terrible thing all of us sit with in situations like this, but you need to try your best to ignore it and do what you need to for you.

    Really hope you are on the mend soon and can get back to life…….

  3. Hope you feel better soon. I hate this feeling of just not being able to do enough to get it all done. I hope that you are able to get it under control, and when you do – pass on the tips of how you got there!

    • Liebe Ihr,ich glaube, Ihr habt eine Leserschaft die wahrscheinlich nicht so ein ausgeprägtes Setsnbewussedein hat und deshalb nicht so oft kommentiert. Ich finde übrigens Euren Blog grossartig und schaue regelmässig auf Eure Seite.Liebe Grüsse, Jessika

    • “Is there any video of this?”Don’t worry, Guilty Feat, I’m sure the Israelis have already identified all the players and marked them down for special treatment. There’s no need for you to do the job.And I remind anyone who might be taken in by Guilty Feat’s occasional imitations of a humane person, all you have to do is click on his name, and his complete comment file is available. Zionists always think everyone is just as amnesiacal as they are.

  4. Sometimes we need to take care of ourselves first so we can take care of others. Feel better soon Fee. I’m also battling the lurgi and am battling to balance it all.

    xxx

    • Hands down, Ap#21&p8le7;s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  5. I am new to your blog (Cat suggestec a few new bloggers to read) Take card of yourself and get better. Everything else can be done later…your health now comes first.

  6. “Folks, this is NOT rocket science.”It isn’t. Obama would have been washed out of the race two years ago if all you say about having two American citizens as parents was a prsqeruieite to becoming POTUS. Or are you saying you Freeper loons are the only ones that can see the truth.

Leave a Reply

